Nassau County Pedestrian Accident Lawyer
Motor vehicle accidents with pedestrians have increased, as has the potential severity of injuries occurring from an accident. If injured due to a driver of a motor vehicle, contact a Nassau County pedestrian accident lawyer to assist with your claims and obtain a fair recovery.
New York requires drivers to maintain no-fault insurance coverage. No-fault insurance provides compensation for pedestrians who are injured by a motor vehicle. It commonly compensates pedestrians for medical treatment and lost wages.
Compensation is provided regardless of who is at fault. The minimum coverage for no-fault insurance is $50,000. Damages above $50,000 may be recoverable through other avenues. A Nassau County pedestrian accident lawyer will know the best options for a particular case.
Actions to Take After a Pedestrian Accident
Immediately after a crash occurs, things are often chaotic. There are, however, steps to take to ensure one’s rights and potential claims are preserved.
- Seek immediate medical attention if injured, even if the injury is minor
- Do not give any statements to anyone without first consulting with a Nassau County pedestrian accident attorney
- Provide name, phone number, and address as requested
- Obtain the driver’s full name, date of birth, address, phone number, license plate number, driver’s license number, insurance information, make, model, and year of the car involved and note any injuries to the driver or damage to the driver’s vehicle
- Record the name, address, and phone number of any passengers or potential witnesses
- Take pictures of any property damage, the scene of the accident, and any injuries
- Keep a journal recording treatment and progress while recovering from injuries
Any documents, records, or information should be provided to an attorney. A pedestrian accident attorney could use evidence from the incident to build a case against the negligent party in Nassau County.
How an Attorney Could Help
Having a Nassau County pedestrian accident attorney is beneficial throughout the course of a case. One advantage is that there is someone to handle things so the injured party can heal and not have to worry about any claims. An attorney will make sure all notices and deadlines are met and all procedures followed. The first deadline requires that Form MV-104 be filed within 10 days from the date of the accident, with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The notice must be made if there was more than $1,000 in property damage or if anyone was injured.
Additionally, New York law requires written notice be provided to the insurance company providing the no-fault insurance coverage within 30 days of the date of the accident. The notice must state the date and time of the incident, the eligible injured person, and the circumstances of the accident.
Proof of the claim for medical expenses must be provided to the insurance company within 45 days from the date medical services were provided. Proof would be medical bills, records, x-rays, and other documents documenting the injuries, the course of treatment, and progress.
If there is a claim for lost wages, supporting documentation must be submitted within 90 days. Failure to meet any of these deadlines may bar recovery for damages. A pedestrian accident lawyer in Nassau County will assist you with your claims and increase the likelihood of success in your case.
Reach out to a Nassau County Pedestrian Accident Attorney Today
The aftermath of a pedestrian accident can be incredibly stressful. You might be facing medical bills, long-term treatment, and an inability to work due to life-altering injuries. You deserve fair compensation when these losses were caused by someone else’s negligence.
A Nassau County pedestrian accident lawyer could help you build your case against the at-fault party and pursue the payments you need to make things right. Call our office today to get started.