Nassau County Bicycle Accident Lawyer
Bicycle accidents with automobiles cause severe and sometimes fatal injuries. If you are a cyclist and have been involved in an accident with a car, contact a Nassau County bicycle accident lawyer today to discuss your claims.
When a driver of a motor vehicle strikes a cyclist, the injuries to the biker are often severe and sometimes deadly. If a person is injured, they are entitled to compensation.
If a family member is fatally injured, surviving relatives may be entitled to compensation as well. Typical compensation for a cyclist injured by a driver of an automobile is payment for:
- Current and future medical treatment
- Physical therapy and rehabilitation
- Psychiatric or psychological treatment
- Lost wages
If loss of life occurs, recovery may consist of payment for:
- Medical bills
- Funeral expenses
- Loss of deceased income
- Loss of deceased future income had the deceased not been killed
A bicycle accident attorney in Nassau County can help an individual or their loved ones recover such damages after being involved in a collision.
What is the No-Fault Statute?
New York statute provides compensation for bikers involved in accidents through insurance referred to as no-fault insurance coverage. No-fault coverage will cover medical bills and lost wages regardless of who is responsible for the crash. The minimum policy for no-fault insurance is $50,000. No-fault insurance may also cover lost wages up to $2,000 per month.
If damages for injuries exceed $50,000 or if the driver of the vehicle involved in the crash is uninsured, there are additional avenues available to recover damages. A Nassau County bicycle accident lawyer can assist in obtaining compensation from other applicable sources of insurance coverage or by suing the negligent driver.
Some such sources are personal injury protection coverage, insurance coverage held by other members of the negligent driver’s household family members, or through Motor Vehicle Indemnification Corporation (MVAIC).
When is the Deadline to File an Auto Accident Claim?
To recover damages, New York law imposes notice and time restrictions that must be met. A Nassau County bicycle accident attorney is beneficial to ensure all deadlines are met and proper documents provided.
First, any person involved in an accident in New York must report the accident if property damage is over $1,000 or if anyone is injured. Even if the injuries are minor, the accident must still be reported.
The notice is filed using form MV-104. It must be filed within 10 days from the date of the accident with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Second, New York law requires written notice must be given to the insurance company providing the no-fault insurance coverage within 30 days of the date of the accident. The notice must state the date and time of the crash, name of the eligible person, and the circumstances of the accident.
Proof of any claim for medical expenses must be provided to the insurance company within 45 days from the date medical services were provided. Any documentation supporting a claim for lost wages must be provided within 90 days of the last day of lost work. Failure to meet any of these deadlines may bar recovery for damages.
Contact a Nassau County Bike Accident Lawyer
A Nassau County bicycle accident attorney can assist in determining which laws apply to your claims, as well as how to assist in obtaining just compensation from any available source.