Suffolk County Pedestrian Accident Lawyer
Accidents between cars and pedestrians have increased. Injuries that occur are often serious. If you or a family member were a pedestrian and injured by the driver of an automobile, a Suffolk County pedestrian accident lawyer can assist you in obtaining just compensation for your injuries. Consult with an experienced personal injury lawyer in Suffolk County today to begin building a claim. En Español.
When a driver of a vehicle strikes a pedestrian, the injuries to the pedestrian are often severe or fatal. If a pedestrian is injured by an automobile, they are entitled to be compensated for any injuries incurred as a result of the crash.
Common items for which damages are received are:
- Medical treatment
- Physical therapy
- Psychological counseling
- Lost wages (limited to $2,000 per month)
Damages for loss of life may include:
- Medical bills
- Burial expenses
- Loss of income (by the decedent)
- Loss of future income (had the decedent not been fatally injured)
If an individual or their loved one has been hurt in an accident and is seeking compensation, a pedestrian accident lawyer in Suffolk County can help to recover any damages they may be pursuing.
New York statute provides compensation for pedestrians involved in accidents through insurance called no-fault insurance coverage. All drivers are required to carry at least a $50,000 policy for no-fault insurance coverage. No-fault insurance will provide compensation to pedestrians injured by an automobile, regardless of who was at fault for the crash.
To avoid waiving any potential claims, the pedestrian involved in the accident must meet a variety of deadlines and requirements. A Suffolk County pedestrian accident attorney will make sure all possible claims are filed timely and all other conditions are met. A non-attorney pedestrian might not know what the deadlines may be, how to file the potential claims, or any other requirements necessary to receive compensation for injuries.
First, the injured pedestrian must report the accident if property damage is over $1,000 or if anyone is injured, even slightly injured. The Form MV-104 must be filed within 10 days from the date of the accident with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Second, New York law requires the pedestrian provide written notice to the insurance company providing the no-fault insurance coverage. The written notice must be given within 30 days from the date of the accident. The notice should include the names of parties involved, a description of the incident, the date and time of the crash, injuries sustained, and other relevant information.
Third, injured pedestrians, or their Suffolk pedestrian accident attorney, must provide proof of their claim for medical expenses within 45 days from the date medical services were provided. Types of documents that support such a claim include invoices, x-ray reports, physical therapy notes, diagnosis, treatment plan, and prognosis. The documents must be sent directly to the no-fault insurance carrier.
Fourth, a pedestrian must submit any supporting wage loss documentation to the no-fault insurer within 90 days from the date of the last missed day of work. Failure to meet any of these deadlines may bar recovery for damages.
Benefit from a Suffolk County Pedestrian Accident Attorney
A Suffolk County pedestrian lawyer can provide representation from the beginning of your claims and ensure you receive the highest amount possible as compensation for your injuries. Give us a call to learn how we can help you.